Adult Education

Prince of Peace has a variety of opportunities throughout the year for adults to grow in their relationship with Jesus and with other adults. Opportunities include Bible studies, video studies, book studies and spiritual practices. Opportunities are usually held on Wednesday mornings at 10:30 a.m.

Why Jesus?

During the months of January, February, and the first part of March (Epiphany to Transfiguration), we will be joining ELCA churches from across the country in the “Why Jesus?” project. The “Why Jesus?” project was created by ELCA pastors, youth directors, worship leaders and musicians. They conceived this idea because they are discovering that while we may know the Biblical stories, know that Jesus is our Lord and Savior, we don’t really know how to articulate for ourselves and for other people who exactly is this divine-human person named Jesus. And what exactly does Jesus mean to our own personal lives and the lives of others. How is believing in Jesus transforming? All of these are fundamental questions that we all ask.

We will be using the theme of “Why Jesus?” to study the Gospel of Matthew through Easter in worship, Facebook, adult and youth education time, and mini-Bible study podcast each week. All are welcome to participate in all or any of these opportunities.

Weekday Bible Study

Weekday Bible Study will focus on the Gospel of Matthew beginning on Wednesday, January 9 through February 27 at 10:30 a.m.

Mini-Bible Study Podcast

Each Tuesday, a new podcast will be posted discussing the upcoming Sunday worship scripture that focuses on the Gospel of Matthew.

Facebook Online Discussion Group

If you are interested in an online group to discuss this material, please visit “POP Dwelling in the Word” on Facebook.

Daily Scripture Readings

If you would like to go deeper into the Gospel of Matthew on your own during the week, below is a list od daily scripture readings and video links in conjunction with the Mini-Bible Study podcasts. While traveling, on-the-go, or just in need of some queit study, these daily readings will help get you started digging deeper into God’s Word.

Monday, December 31, 2018        Matthew 2:1-12

Tuesday, January 1, 2019              Bible Study Podcast*

Wednesday, January 2, 2019       Matthew 2:13-15

Thursday, January 3, 2019           Lives on Hold

Friday, January 4, 2019               Matthew 2:16-18

Saturday, January 5, 2019           Matthew 2:19-23

Sunday, January 6, 2019             Psalm 96:10-13

 

Monday, January 7                      Matthew 3:1-6

Tuesday, January 8                      Bible Study Podcast*

Wednesday, January 9                Matthew 3:7-12

Thursday, January 10                  https://youtu.be/tDn7SzSjQC8

Friday, January 11                        Matthew 3:13-17

Saturday, January 12                  A Story of Faith With No Easy Answers

Sunday, January 13                     Psalm 2:7-8

 

Monday, January 14                    Matthew 4:1-11

Tuesday, January 15                    Bible Study Podcast*

Wednesday, January 16              Matthew 4:12-17

Thursday, January 17                 https://youtu.be/8461sSlUM7Y

Friday, January 18                       Matthew 4:18-22

Saturday, January 19                   Matthew 4:23-25

Sunday, January 20                     Psalm 91:9-12

 

Monday, January 21                    Matthew 5:1-16

Tuesday, January 22                    Bible Study podcast*

Wednesday, January 23              Matthew 5:17-26

Thursday, January 24                https://youtu.be/GBXG0VhYZCE

Friday, January 25                       Matthew 5:27-42

Saturday, January 26                   Matthew 5:43-48

Sunday, January 27                     Psalm 1:1-3

 

Monday, January 28                    Matthew 6:1-6

Tuesday, January 29                    Bible Study podcast*

Wednesday, January 30              Matthew 6:7-15

Thursday, January 31                  https://youtu.be/JjJEksmV87o

Friday, February 1                       Matthew 6:16-24

Saturday, February 2                   Matthew 6:25-34

Sunday, February 3                     Psalm 20:7